Bring your students. Keep the relationship and set the rate.
0% lesson commission on the students you bring, and you keep your full rate. Families paying through TutorLab add a 5% processing fee (0% on Pro).
Why switch to TutorLab
0% lesson commission on students you bring
With bank-transfer invoicing, TutorLab adds no transaction fee. On every payment method through TutorLab, a 5% processing fee (0% on Pro) is added to the family's price, and you keep your full rate.
Parents contact you directly
Enquiries land in your TutorLab inbox. Reply there and agree lessons on your terms.
Import your whole student list at once
Paste your spreadsheet or upload a CSV. Common columns match automatically, you review the preview, everything imports in one go.
The money: one worked example
Assumptions, stated plainly: a tutor charging £40/hour, one regular student, one lesson a week, 40 term-time weeks a year. That is £1,600/year in gross lesson fees from a single student, before any platform takes its share. A tutor with multiple students multiplies this per student.
Compare the written quote
Marketplace models are not interchangeable: some deduct a tutor fee, some add a parent service fee and some charge for contact. Several do not publish one durable percentage. Use the rate and VAT terms offered to your account; TutorLab does not manufacture a saving from review estimates.
On TutorLab
Bank-transfer invoicing has no TutorLab transaction fee. On every payment method through TutorLab, a 5% processing fee (0% on Pro) is added to the family's price on your own students, and the separate subscription costs £29 a month. Compare those known costs with the written quote you actually receive elsewhere.
How major tutoring platforms charge
Checked against each platform's own public pricing, help or terms pages on 2 August 2026. Where no durable percentage is published, we say so.
| Platform | Model | What it costs |
|---|---|---|
| MyTutor | Managed marketplace | Tutor fee + VAT; public % not stated |
| Tutorful | Managed marketplace | Percentage service fee; public % not stated |
| Tutor Hunt | Managed marketplace | Fees included in displayed rate; public % not stated |
| Superprof | Contact marketplace | Recurring parent Student Pass; checkout price |
| TutorCruncher | Agency management SaaS | From £25/mo + published usage/payment fees |
| TutorLab | Directory + business software + optional card collection | 0% commission on your own students; you keep your full rate. £29/mo flat subscription. A processing fee (5%, 0% on Pro) is added to the family's price on your own students, on every payment method; bank-transfer invoicing has no TutorLab transaction fee |
Sources: MyTutor tutor-payment details; Tutorful service-fee help and terms; Tutor Hunt “How our service works”; Superprof UK purchase journey; TutorCruncher official GB pricing. Recheck before relying on a competitor price.
Notice what is missing from that table
Almost none of them will tell you the percentage. They confirm a fee and stop there, which means the one number that decides your income is the one number you cannot look up. Put your own figures in and see what it comes to over a year, then ask what you would keep if the platform closed tomorrow. One of them just did.
3 steps to switch
Create a TutorLab profile
Start free. Add your subject, location, rate, and a photo if you have one. That takes about 5 minutes.
Import your students
Open Import, paste your student list (or upload a CSV), and TutorLab matches the common columns for you. Review the preview and import in one go. Your existing students land in your TutorLab dashboard.
Publish and go live
Click publish. Parents searching for your subject in your town find your profile. Your imported students are already there; new parents can enquire and arrange sessions directly with you.
What changes for your parents: nothing
Your existing parents do not need to do anything. They keep paying you the same way they always have: bank transfer, your invoices, or however you arranged it. They never get forced into a TutorLab account. New parents who find you on TutorLab message you there and book in a few taps.
The only thing new parents see is your TutorLab profile with your rate. They message you directly. No Student Pass, and the price you see is the price you pay. That is the whole difference from the platforms you are switching from.
How the import works (it is private and fast)
Paste or upload
Copy your list from Google Sheets, Excel, or export a CSV from your current platform. Paste it or upload the file.
Columns match automatically
Common headings such as Name, Email and Rate match for you. If a field is left over, only the column headings are ever sent for a suggestion, never your parents' details, and you can set any column yourself.
You review and import
See the preview. Every row is shown. Confirm it looks right, then import. Your list stays in your browser until you press go.
Or we can set it up for you
Have just a few students, or prefer a hand? Reply to any TutorLab email, or write to us directly, with a screenshot of your student list and we will move it over for you the same day. No forms, no waiting.
harry@trytutorlab.ukAlready using tutoring software?
Compare TutorLab with the tools you know
TutorLab combines a solo-tutor workspace with a searchable public profile and UK directory. Directory visibility creates a demand surface; it does not guarantee enquiries.
Already decided? How moving your student list works:
Questions about switching
Do you take my clients?
No. You remain the merchant of record and keep the client relationship. If a parent pays through TutorLab, on any payment method, our regulated payment partner processes the payment for your connected TutorLab Payments account and pays out on its normal schedule. TutorLab adds the processing fee shown for your plan to the family's price, never a lesson commission on your own students, and you keep your full rate. You can ask harry@trytutorlab.uk for a copy of your TutorLab account data at any time.
What does it cost?
0% commission on your own students, ever, and you keep your full rate. On every payment method through TutorLab, a 5% processing fee (0% on Pro) is added to the family's price on your own students; paying you directly, for example by bank transfer, has no TutorLab transaction fee. Publishing your profile is free. TutorLab Pro, £29 a month, adds AI lesson notes, parent reports, invoicing and HMRC tax summaries. The subscription buys software, never directory ranking or lead access. Free to start, no card needed.
What about my existing students?
They stay yours, and you keep your full rate. If they pay you through TutorLab, on any payment method, a 5% processing fee (0% on Pro) is added to their price. You can also keep collecting by bank transfer; TutorLab adds no transaction fee to those invoices.
Can I import my student list from another platform?
Yes. Paste your student list from Google Sheets or Excel, or upload a CSV. TutorLab matches common columns automatically and has options for TutorBird, Teachworks and TutorCruncher files. You check every row in the preview, then import them in one go.
Will my parents have to create accounts on TutorLab?
Parents can send a first enquiry without setting a password. You then agree sessions directly and can use bank-transfer invoicing or optional TutorLab card collection.
Can I leave TutorLab if it's not for me?
Yes. Cancel any time from your billing settings, with no lock-in contract. Email harry@trytutorlab.uk before you leave if you want a copy of your TutorLab account data.
Move your students without lesson commission
Import your students yourself, or email us your list and ask for migration help. TutorLab charges 0% lesson commission on students you bring, and you keep your full rate. Bank-transfer invoicing has no TutorLab transaction fee; on every payment method through TutorLab, a 5% processing fee (0% on Pro) is added to the family's price.