MyTutor alternative: keep your client and set your rate
Marketplace: MyTutor takes a commission from the tutor on every lesson booked through the platform. TutorLab takes 0% commission on your own students, ever. You keep your client and your full rate. When a family pays through TutorLab, on any payment method, a processing fee (5%, 0% on Pro) is added to their price, never a commission.
How the main UK tutoring platforms charge
Checked against each platform's own public pricing, help or terms pages on 2 August 2026. Where a platform does not publish one percentage, this table says so instead of estimating from reviews.
| Platform | Model | What it costs | Relationship |
|---|---|---|---|
| MyTutor | Managed marketplace | Tutor fee + VAT; public % not stated | Booking and payment stay on-platform |
| Tutorful | Managed marketplace | Percentage service fee; public % not stated | Booking and payment stay on-platform |
| Tutor Hunt | Managed marketplace | Fees included in displayed rate; public % not stated | Booking and payment stay on-platform |
| Superprof | Contact marketplace | Recurring parent Student Pass; checkout price | Parent pays to unlock contact |
| TutorCruncher | Agency management SaaS | From £25/mo + published usage/payment fees | Agency owns its customer workflow |
| TutorLab | Directory + business software + optional card collection | 0% commission on your own students; you keep your full rate. £29/mo flat subscription. A processing fee (5%, 0% on Pro) is added to the family's price on your own students; bank-transfer invoicing has no TutorLab transaction fee | Direct tutor-parent relationship |
Sources: MyTutor tutor-payment details; Tutorful service-fee help and terms; Tutor Hunt “How our service works”; Superprof UK purchase journey; TutorCruncher official GB pricing. Recheck before relying on a competitor price.
Compare one real student without false precision
A tutor charging £40/hour, one student, one lesson a week, 40 term-time weeks a year = £1,600/year from that single student before software or payment costs. Use a competitor's written quote and your actual payment mix before deciding what you would keep.
On MyTutor
MyTutor's own tutor-payment page confirms that it deducts a fee and charges VAT, but does not state one public percentage. Ask for the rate that applies to your account before comparing take-home pay.
On TutorLab
Bank-transfer invoicing has no TutorLab transaction fee. On any payment method through TutorLab, a processing fee (5%, 0% on Pro) is added to the family's price on your own students, and you keep your full rate. The separate subscription is £29/month.
Where MyTutor is genuinely strong
MyTutor brings genuine volume: a large parent-facing marketing engine, tiered rate bands that make pricing easy to understand at a glance, and a big, mature review base that builds trust fast for a first-time tutor with no track record of their own.
The structural difference
MyTutor bundles parent demand, booking, an online classroom and payment into a managed marketplace. TutorLab is an own-client business workspace with a public directory: tutors set their rate, keep the client relationship and can continue using bank transfer at no TutorLab transaction fee.
Teaching on MyTutor? Bring your students to TutorLab with 0% lesson commission, keeping your full rate. Bank-transfer invoicing has no TutorLab transaction fee; on any payment method through TutorLab, a 5% processing fee (0% on Pro) is added to the family's price.
See how switching works0% commission on your own students
Never a percentage of your lesson fee on the students you bring, on any tier, forever; you keep your full rate. A processing fee is added to the family's price on every payment method through TutorLab.
Free to start, no card needed
Every core tool for unlimited students who pay through TutorLab and up to 3 you invoice yourself.
Questions about switching from MyTutor
Does MyTutor take my clients?
No platform can take clients you already have offline, but on MyTutor the platform sits in the booking relationship. On TutorLab you are the merchant of record: money settles directly to your own bank account and you keep the client relationship. You can ask us for a copy of your TutorLab account data at any time.
What does TutorLab cost compared to MyTutor?
TutorLab charges 0% commission on your own students, ever, and you keep your full rate. The optional subscription is a flat £29 a month for the business tools (AI lesson notes, parent reports, invoicing, HMRC tax summary). When a family pays you through TutorLab's own-student rail, on any payment method, TutorLab adds an all-in processing fee to the family's price (a 5% processing fee, 0% on Pro). Paying you directly, for example by bank transfer, has no TutorLab fee. MyTutor's public model is: Tutor fee + VAT; public percentage not stated.
What happens to my existing students if I switch?
Your existing students stay yours, and you keep your full rate. If they pay you through TutorLab, on any payment method, TutorLab adds a processing fee to their price (5%, 0% on Pro). You can also keep collecting by bank transfer, which has no TutorLab transaction fee.
Can I leave TutorLab if it's not for me?
Yes. Cancel any time from your billing settings, with no lock-in contract. Email harry@trytutorlab.uk before you leave if you want a copy of your TutorLab account data.
Is MyTutor bad for tutors?
MyTutor brings genuine volume: a large parent-facing marketing engine, tiered rate bands that make pricing easy to understand at a glance, and a big, mature review base that builds trust fast for a first-time tutor with no track record of their own.
Ready to stop paying lesson commission on your own students?
0% commission; you keep your full rate. A 5% processing fee (0% on Pro) is added to the family's price, on every payment method.Free to start, no card needed. Reply to any TutorLab email, or write to harry@trytutorlab.uk and we will move your student list for you.