Alternatives & comparisons

Tutoring platform alternatives & comparisons, 2026

Tutorful, MyTutor and Superprof each charge a different way, and First Tutors closed in May 2026. This page compares what parents pay to contact a tutor, what tutors keep, and how each platform verifies and reviews, sourced and dated. Pick a platform below for the full comparison.

1,469 tutor profiles listedSourced from live platform data, July 2026

Platform-by-platform, as of July 2026

Figures sourced from each platform's own pricing pages and tutor-reported experiences on Glassdoor, verified by live fetch this week. Products change, so check the individual comparison pages for full sourcing and a dated FAQ.

PlatformParent cost to contactTutor keepsVerificationReviews model
TutorLabFree to message100% of their rate on their own students, on every payment method (0% platform fee too on TutorLab-introduced families, unlimited on every paid plan)Directory listingRail-payment-gated (unfakeable)
TutorfulPercentage service fee added at booking; public rate not statedTutor sets the base rate; parent pays the service fee on topDirectory login required to browse"81K+ 5-star reviews" claimed sitewide
MyTutor3 tiers: £25+/£45+/£65+ per hourTutor fee is reduced by a platform charge plus VAT; public rate not statedDBS badges with expiry datesLarge first-party review base
SuperprofRecurring Student Pass to message; price shown at purchaseFree listing; optional platform-payment terms applySelf-reported profilesPer-tutor reviews, no platform aggregate
First TutorsClosed in May 2026N/A, platform shut downN/AN/A

Commission figures for Tutorful and MyTutor are hedged ("reported") because they come from tutor-side reviews, not each platform's own disclosure. TutorLab's 0% commission on a tutor's own students is a direct product fact.

What each platform genuinely does well

No platform is strictly worse across every dimension. Here is where each one has a real edge.

Tutorful: A First Lesson Guarantee and consistent by-level average rates published for Primary, GCSE and A-Level, which gives parents a clear price anchor before they search.
MyTutor: A mature trust layer: enhanced DBS onboarding, a free video meeting before a paid lesson, structured price bands and a large first-party review base.
Superprof: A broad catalogue covering academic and non-academic subjects, with free tutor listings and a familiar contact-marketplace model.
Tutor Hunt: Free parent messaging, online and in-person options, and published enhanced DBS, identity and reference checks for tutors.
TutorLab, honestly: a smaller directory (1,469 tutor profiles listed) than the giants above and a newer platform (founded 2024), so the raw listing count and review volume are still growing. What it offers instead is 0% commission on a tutor's own students, free contact for parents, and live rate data rather than fixed tiers.

Common questions comparing UK tutoring platforms

Which UK tutoring platform has the lowest cost for parents?

TutorLab and Tutor Hunt both let parents message tutors without a contact charge. Superprof requires a recurring Student Pass to unlock contact, while Tutorful adds a percentage service fee at booking but does not publish one public rate. On TutorLab, contacting a tutor is free.

Which platform lets tutors keep the most of their rate?

The tutor keeps 100% of their rate on their own students on TutorLab. A family paying through TutorLab, on any payment method, adds a disclosed processing fee on top of the tutor's rate (a 5% processing fee, 0% on Pro); paying the tutor directly, for example by bank transfer, carries no TutorLab fee. MyTutor confirms a tutor charge plus VAT and Tutorful confirms a percentage parent service fee, but neither publishes one universal rate, so ask for a written quote before comparing take-home pay.

Is Tutorful, MyTutor or Superprof better for verification?

MyTutor's DBS badges with visible expiry dates are the most transparent verification signal observed. Tutor Hunt is also known for verification depth. TutorLab does not independently run DBS checks, so parents should ask the tutor directly and view the certificate before lessons begin.

Why did First Tutors close?

First Tutors, a long-running UK tutor directory, closed in May 2026. Its listings are no longer live. Parents and tutors who used it need a new directory; see our First Tutors guide for what to do next.

Try the alternative

Parents: contact a tutor free, no pass, one all-in price. Tutors: list free; you keep 100% of your rate on the students you bring, and a 5% processing fee (0% on Pro) is added to the family's price on every payment method. Free on the tools for unlimited students who pay through TutorLab and up to 3 you invoice yourself, no card needed, then TutorLab Pro at £29/month.