TutorCruncher alternative

TutorCruncher alternative: keep your client and set your rate

B2B management SaaS built for agencies: from £25 a month, with 2.65% UK card fees on Pay as you go, 2.3% on Startup, and separate offline activity fees. TutorLab takes 0% commission on your own students, ever. You keep your client and your full rate. When a family pays through TutorLab, on any payment method, a processing fee (5%, 0% on Pro) is added to their price, never a commission.

1,469 tutor profiles listedFree to start, no card needed

How the main UK tutoring platforms charge

Checked against each platform's own public pricing, help or terms pages on 2 August 2026. Where a platform does not publish one percentage, this table says so instead of estimating from reviews.

PlatformModelWhat it costsRelationship
MyTutorManaged marketplaceTutor fee + VAT; public % not statedBooking and payment stay on-platform
TutorfulManaged marketplacePercentage service fee; public % not statedBooking and payment stay on-platform
Tutor HuntManaged marketplaceFees included in displayed rate; public % not statedBooking and payment stay on-platform
SuperprofContact marketplaceRecurring parent Student Pass; checkout priceParent pays to unlock contact
TutorCruncherAgency management SaaSFrom £25/mo + published usage/payment feesAgency owns its customer workflow
TutorLabDirectory + business software + optional card collection0% commission on your own students; you keep your full rate. £29/mo flat subscription. A processing fee (5%, 0% on Pro) is added to the family's price on your own students; bank-transfer invoicing has no TutorLab transaction feeDirect tutor-parent relationship

Sources: MyTutor tutor-payment details; Tutorful service-fee help and terms; Tutor Hunt “How our service works”; Superprof UK purchase journey; TutorCruncher official GB pricing. Recheck before relying on a competitor price.

Compare one real student without false precision

A tutor charging £40/hour, one student, one lesson a week, 40 term-time weeks a year = £1,600/year from that single student before software or payment costs. Use a competitor's written quote and your actual payment mix before deciding what you would keep.

On TutorCruncher

1 hour/week at £40/hour, 40 weeks/year£1,600/year
From £25/mo + 2.3-2.65% UK card fee-£42

TutorCruncher's official UK pricing page on 2 August 2026. The worked example uses the 2.65% Pay as you go card fee and excludes the separate £25 monthly base fee.

On TutorLab

1 hour/week at £40/hour, 40 weeks/year£1,600/year
0% commission on your own students-£0

Bank-transfer invoicing has no TutorLab transaction fee. On any payment method through TutorLab, a processing fee (5%, 0% on Pro) is added to the family's price on your own students, and you keep your full rate. The separate subscription is £29/month.

Where TutorCruncher is genuinely strong

TutorCruncher is genuinely strong for its actual market: multi-tutor agencies that need split payouts, tutor payroll, a sales CRM pipeline and deep reporting across a whole team. For that use case it's a more complete back office than TutorLab currently offers.

The structural difference

TutorCruncher is agency-management software rather than a tutor marketplace, so agencies usually source demand separately. TutorLab combines solo-tutor business tools with a searchable public profile and UK directory. A listing creates a demand surface; it does not guarantee enquiries.

Teaching on TutorCruncher? Bring your students to TutorLab with 0% lesson commission, keeping your full rate. Bank-transfer invoicing has no TutorLab transaction fee; on any payment method through TutorLab, a 5% processing fee (0% on Pro) is added to the family's price.

See how switching works

0% commission on your own students

Never a percentage of your lesson fee on the students you bring, on any tier, forever; you keep your full rate. A processing fee is added to the family's price on every payment method through TutorLab.

Free to start, no card needed

Every core tool for unlimited students who pay through TutorLab and up to 3 you invoice yourself.

Questions about switching from TutorCruncher

Does TutorCruncher take my clients?

No platform can take clients you already have offline, but on TutorCruncher the platform sits in the booking relationship. On TutorLab you are the merchant of record: money settles directly to your own bank account and you keep the client relationship. You can ask us for a copy of your TutorLab account data at any time.

What does TutorLab cost compared to TutorCruncher?

TutorLab charges 0% commission on your own students, ever, and you keep your full rate. The optional subscription is a flat £29 a month for the business tools (AI lesson notes, parent reports, invoicing, HMRC tax summary). When a family pays you through TutorLab's own-student rail, on any payment method, TutorLab adds an all-in processing fee to the family's price (a 5% processing fee, 0% on Pro). Paying you directly, for example by bank transfer, has no TutorLab fee. TutorCruncher's public model is: From £25/mo + 2.3-2.65% UK card fee.

What happens to my existing students if I switch?

Your existing students stay yours, and you keep your full rate. If they pay you through TutorLab, on any payment method, TutorLab adds a processing fee to their price (5%, 0% on Pro). You can also keep collecting by bank transfer, which has no TutorLab transaction fee.

Can I leave TutorLab if it's not for me?

Yes. Cancel any time from your billing settings, with no lock-in contract. Email harry@trytutorlab.uk before you leave if you want a copy of your TutorLab account data.

Is TutorCruncher bad for tutors?

TutorCruncher is genuinely strong for its actual market: multi-tutor agencies that need split payouts, tutor payroll, a sales CRM pipeline and deep reporting across a whole team. For that use case it's a more complete back office than TutorLab currently offers.

Ready to stop paying lesson commission on your own students?

0% commission; you keep your full rate. A 5% processing fee (0% on Pro) is added to the family's price, on every payment method.Free to start, no card needed. Reply to any TutorLab email, or write to harry@trytutorlab.uk and we will move your student list for you.